skip to Main Content


WONDER (6 months - 3 years)

Wonder is the water familiarisation component of the Swim and Survive program, designed specifically for the children aged 6 months to 3 years.


COURAGE (3 - 5 Years)

Courage is the water confidence component of the Swim and Survive program, and is designed for children 3 to 5 years.


Active (5 - 14 years)

Active is the swimming and water safety component of the Swim and Survive program, and is designed for children aged 5 to 14 years.

Mini Squad


Mini Squads provides children with a pathway from learn-to-swim into a comprehensive training program. Mini squad aims to refine technique in all four competitive strokes whilst introducing students to a performance environment.


Adult Learn To Swim

Swimming is a vital life skill that you’re never too old to learn. We cater for all levels of adult learn-to-swim from beginner to those wishing to swim for fitness.

Learn to Swim

We deliver the Royal Life Saving Swim & Survive program, a broad and balanced program teaching a range of skills and knowledge to develop swimming, water safety, survival and basic rescue skills. It aims to develop a strong and safety aware swimmer who has a healthy respect for the aquatic environment.

Swim and Survive is a swimming and water safety initiative of Royal Life Saving that seeks to increase swimming and water safety skills of Australian children in order to prevent drowning and increase participation in safe aquatic activity.

More than swimming lessons

Learn to swim, swimming lessons and infant aquatics are all terms commonly used across the aquatic industry. Swim and Survive is all of these, but most importantly it ensures that the essential components of personal survival and water safety are provided, in addition to a process of developing strong and effective swimming technique.

Program Pathway

Swim and Survive provides learning pathways incorporating three programs that provide child focused swimming and water safety education for each of the key life stages between 6 months and 14 years.

Learning swimming, survival and lifesaving skills is a lifelong process. Royal Life Saving recommends continuous participation and regular practice to develop and consolidate skills for a lifetime of fun and safe aquatic activity.

Why swim and survive?

Skills and knowledge learnt in the Swim and Survive program provides a level of protection.

  • 1 in 5 of all drowning deaths are children aged under 18 years of age
  • 50 children drowned last year
  • 60% of children aged 0-4 drowned in backyard pools
  • 55% of children aged 5-14 drowned in rivers
  • Males are 3 times more likely to drown than females
  • Drowning rates dramatically increase as teenagers become young adults

Swim and Survive encompasses three programs; Wonder (6 to 36 months), Courage (3 to 5 years) and Active (5 to 14 years). All are linked to ensure a progression of skills through the key life stages.

Back To Top