skip to Main Content

Active (5 – 14 years)

‘Active’ is used to emphasise that the skills learnt in the program not only save lives, but provide a foundation for participation in a range of aquatic recreation, fitness and sporting activities.

Active is the swimming and water safety component of the Swim and Survive program, and is designed for children aged 5 to 14 years. This component of the Swim and Survive has been around for over 30 years, with almost 15 million Australians gaining a Swim and Survive award since its inception.

Swim and Survive Active is a broad and balance program teaching a range of skills and knowledge to develop swimming, water safety, survival and basic rescue skills. With a vibrant look, and an increased focus on stroke development, Active encourages children to have a healthy respect for the aquatic environment.

Swim and Survive Active is a swimming and personal aquatic survival program that is aligned to the National Swimming and Water Safety framework and develops skills across the following areas:

Entries and exits skills

Teach children to determine the safest entry and exit method for a range of aquatic environments.

Floating and sculling skills

Enable children to gain mobility in the aquatic environment and are vital skills for developing swimming and survival skills.

Movement and swimming strokes

Develops efficient and effective stroke technique and the ability to adapt the strokes to suit the conditions of the environment. Fitness and endurance increases through the progression of levels.

Survival and PFD skills

Includes the teaching of survival techniques and strategies for a range of emergency situations, including the use of personal flotation devices.

Underwater skills

Assist in building vital water confidence in the water. Relaxation and good breath control are developed to increase swimming endurance.

Rescue skills

Equip children with the required skills to perform a range of rescues depending on the emergency situation, the environment and prevailing conditions.

Water safety knowledge

Develops an understanding of a range of swimming and water safety issues that underpins safety in and around the water.


Lessons are conducted during the school term however fees are payable monthly.


There are a couple of ways you can get in touch with us to enrol in swimming lessons – you can call us or we can call you!

If you can spare a few minutes to complete our online self-assessment we can capture the information we need for the enrolment process and look for class options to have ready when we call you back! We’ll get back to you as soon as possible which will be by the end of the next business day at the latest.

If you’d prefer speak directly with a member of our team we’d love to hear from you.

Choose the option that best suits you:

Back To Top